Capturing Moment in Slow Motion

Levé
4 min readOct 25, 2022

--

Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

“Blurry photos are a common photography mistake, but some moments are mean to be captured with shaking your hand, in slow shutter speed to create a motion, to depict the beauty of slowing down and the aesthetic of the imperfect.”

Landscape and nature photography inspired me to become a photographer; exploring the world and capturing its beauty is one of my dreams. However, reality is not always aligned with what we want, I have to work at the office for 8 hours and only take pictures of my surroundings, which is monotonous. I’ve been learning some photography techniques, and the concept of motion blur resonates with me the most; it was an accident at first, but it gradually became my favorite.

On the weekends, I frequently traveled by bus and took so many photographs. I previously used a fast shutter speed to freeze the moment, then switched to a slow shutter speed, and I really like how it looks.

The photos above were taken from the inside of a moving bus. I had no idea how the photo would turn out; I just took as many as I could. Along the way, I slowly understand how to make the image appealing, how to create a beautiful car light and motion.

The image on the left looks chaotic; if you’re not paying attention, you won’t be able to tell what it is. The right image appears calmer; my story for this image is that citizens left the city due to a zombie apocalypse. These photos were classified as “photos taken from inside the car.” The photographs appear bizarre and unpredictable. My job is to tell a story using vague photos.

Aside from that, slow motion photos are frequently used to portray human emotion, such as the one below by Callum Skelton. In January 2022, I intended to create “Persona,” a photo set depicting various human personas, but it is still on my to-do list. I practice photography alone; I can’t complete this project on my own, and I’m terrible at expressing emotions.

Photo by Callum Skelton on Unsplash

So, instead of working on “Persona,” I create a “How to do xxx” photo set in slow motion. It was yet another accident that turned out to be a good idea. The photo set “How to Tie Your Hair” is shown below.

Actually, I didn’t tie my hair; I just touched it and moved my hands. I’ll do better next time, so stay tuned!

My first discovery, long before the “Photo I took from inside the car” and “Persona” concepts, was Spinning the Tree and Dementor Kiss.

My eureka moment came when I discovered this concept. I want to go deeper into this concept and master the technique. Hopefully, someday I can create a beautiful photo like the one below.

Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

After I finish my Daily Raw Project #365, I prepare to do a weekly or monthly project, with the first pieces focusing on how to master the slow-motion technique.

It divided into five categories:

  • Photo I took from inside the car
  • Persona
  • Spinning the Tree
  • Dementor Kiss
  • How To Do xxx

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to pull it off, but it’s worth a shot. I’m going to share the journey on Medium. After that time, see you!

--

--

Levé

Share stories about art, science, economic and my personal experiences.